When Food is Ugly

October 27, 2010 at 7:53 pm 2 comments

Let’s be honest. We don’t always have time to make a gorgeous, enticing meal every night.  Cooking and eating aren’t always picture perfect.

That’s where I’m at tonight. Right now.  My husband is zonked out with CNN droning away on the boob tube in the other room.  While I’m trying to figure out what I can put together in 15 minutes flat with the ingredients in my frig after a busy afternoon working. I have a little more leftover chili from the pot I made on Sunday – but I’ve had it a couple days in a row and I’m kinda chili’d out.

It’s not going to be easy.  Or pretty.  This is when food goes ugly. This is when food goes “trailer trash.”

It’s crazy, isn’t it?

So I forage through the frig, the freezer, the pantry and the cupboard and think about what sounds good. What ingredients work together? What will my husband enjoy?  And, it would be nice if it’s reasonably healthy.

Okay, got Tater Tots from Wal-Mart in the oven baking right now.

Poured some Trader Joes “Melange au Trois” which is a frozen combination of three different colored bell pepper strips – red, green and yellow into a pan to saute with a little olive oil.

Added a little onion to the pan to saute with the bell peppers.

Nuked Trader Joes “Tuna with Red Panang Curry Sauce” as per instructions. Have never bought this before.  It tasted good when the employee at the store was giving out little samples of it a few weeks ago. I can’t believe how tiny the package is. I’ll have to stretch this out with more than Tater Tots.  A lot.

Poured the nuked Red Panang Curry on top of the stuff in the pan. Poured about a cup of Vons Red Curry and Coconut Bisque into the pan.  Drained a three ounce can of white tuna and tossed it in, too.

Folded everything together to combine. Tasted. Not bad.

Needed just a little more heat.  Had about 2-3 tablespoons of Trader Joes Simmer Sauce left in the bottom of a jar.  Stirred it in with everything else and left it on the stove top on simmer another five minutes.

Put the Tater Tots* on two plates.  Poured the curry sauce stuff all over the top. Even I am amazed at how ugly this looks.  The only word I can think of is an acronym: SOS.

*I know a nice Basmati rice would make this mishmash a little more “authentic.” But I was in the mood for the trailer trash taste of Tater Tots from Wal-Mart.  I actually bought the bag a couple months ago when my very finicky grandkids were coming for the weekend.

Okay, it’s not Twinkies, Slim Jims, Easy Cheese (the stuff in a can) and Moon Pies. But I hope this guilty post won’t destroy any future credibility I might someday have with the foodosphere.  I was only hoping to coax a smile.

G’night and next time around I’ll make real food.  I promise.

Entry filed under: A Little Weird, Adventurous Foodie. Tags: , , , , .

Turkey Chili w/ Tri-color Beans Mediterranean Parfait with Greek Yogurt

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn Jung  |  October 27, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I love it! Very creative, too. That’s pretty good in 15 minutes, too. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  October 29, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    A good, trashy dinner is just what the doctor ordered sometimes… I prefer to celebrate it. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


