It’s Friday After 6:00 PM

October 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm 3 comments

And I’ve worked pretty hard all week.

Between getting this blog going and operating my regular business it’s the weekend and I couldn’t be happier.

My husband Ernie took off a couple hours ago.  He’s on his way to Southern California to see our grandkids play soccer and flag football.  I went with him on a similar weekend two weeks ago.

He is 65 and semi-retired.  I am 52 and definitely not retired.

He’ll be back home Sunday late in the afternoon.  We gave each other warm hugs and kisses when he left and now I’m on my own for two days.

So, at 6:00 pm I opened a bottle of Merlot.  I haven’t had a glass of wine in a month so this is lovely.

I know myself.  I’m not a big drinker.  I’m not going to get soused while my husband is babysitting the kiddies 235 miles away. I have a plan to get together and go power walking with my friend Linda tomorrow at 7:00 am. Cool, clear heads must prevail.

I’m going to have a lot of wine left over. What to do? What to do?

I have plenty of food in the frig I won’t have to cook tomorrow. Besides, I’m getting together with a friend for lunch.  But Sunday afternoon – I know I’ll want to use the rest of that bottle and I have to figure out what to cook.  I was thinking about making the classic Coq au Vin – to use up the remainder of the wine.  But maybe you have a better idea. Maybe there’s a dessert that cause for red wine – that would be adventurous.

If you have a great idea for something I should cook that’ll use a fair quantity of nice Merlot – let me know.  Bear in mind my husband, Ernie, doesn’t eat beef or pork.  Sad, but true.

Any thoughts, ideas or insights you’d like to share?

Entry filed under: Adventurous Foodie, Weekend Kickback Time. Tags: , , , .

Mediterranean Parfait with Greek Yogurt Roasted Four-way Potatoes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  October 30, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Thanks for the inspiration, Megan. That should be something that’s reasonably light. I’ll do some digging around and see what kind of recipe I can come up with.

    Reply
  • 2. Janet  |  October 30, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 😉 I just read your post and think that this recipe will fit what you are looking for. I read his blog quite a bit and love it! http://www.herbivoracious.com/2010/06/peppery-red-wine-capellini-cooked-by-the-absorption-method-recipe.html

    Reply
    • 3. dmmfoodie  |  October 31, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      Thanks so much for the link, Janet. He’s got some very nice stuff. But I’m not much of a pasta person – trying to avoid at least some white carbs. Or a (almost) raw tomato person. Love cooked down Marinara sauce – but raw tomatoes have always been one of those “ick” food for me since I was a little girl.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


