Is Halloween Over with Yet?

October 31, 2010 at 11:52 am 4 comments

I hate to be a bah-humbug  but I’m not into the creepy, weird Halloween food.  I’m so looking forward to November 1st tomorrow and getting on with the “real holidays.”

I swear, if I have to look at another pizza that looks like a spider web of cheese or “eyeballs” made with all kinds of different things or cupcakes that look like skulls.

Seems like every couple years the foods get a little more gross. And with the popularity of red velvet cake when you bite into some of these “treats” it’s almost like biting into real red flesh.  Ewwwwwwww!

Lordy!  It just doesn’t seem at all appetizing.

When I was a kid I loved Halloween – planning out my costume with my Mom’s help. Going trick or treating. Sorting out all the candy afterward and getting almost sick on too much chocolate and sugar.

Ahhhh!! Those were the days!

When I was a little older and no longer trick or treating we did this sort of haunted house thing with the front of our house with a “casket” in the front yard, ghosts dropping down and flying around and spooky sounds. We had fun making the little kids out trick or treating a little bit afraid.

But the macabre foods just don’t do it for me.  I guess it makes sense because Halloween parties are a much bigger deal than years ago.  Kids go to parties because they don’t trick or treat as much – and then the adults end up coming to the parties, too.  So, I guess it was inevitable that creative cooks would start coming up with weird foods that reflect the spookiness of the day.

Am I just getting too old? Or, are you like me? Ready to get over all the Halloween crazies and get on with every possible way to make pumpkin and other November goodies?

Entry filed under: A Little Weird, Adventurous Foodie. Tags: , , , .

Roasted Four-way Potatoes My Coq au Vin Rouge

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori @ RecipeGirl  |  October 31, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I’m sad that you’re not so into Halloween. Growing up, it was always a big deal for me — I always had a Halloween bday party with all kinds of fun goodies. The kids are always super excited about this holiday- the costumes, the candy and the fun treats. My son goes nuts whenever I make something new! Our neighborhood also has a huge pre-trick or treat party so that’s a good opportunity for the fun Halloween food too. I love it, but I love all of the other foods of the fall and holiday season coming up too, so the celebration continues 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. dmmfoodie  |  October 31, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Hi Lori: I’m glad you love Halloween. It’s not the holiday I don’t like – honestly. I’ve even won costume contests in the past because I dreamed up really great costumes. Last year when I went trick or treating with my grandkids (they live 4-hours away in SoCal) I had a blast and enjoyed the spooky things a few folks did with their home. I got a big kick looking at all the kids costumes.

      It’s the weird food. That’s the thing that makes me a little uncomfortable, I guess. I don’t mind a sugar cookie that looks like a pumpkin frosted in orange. It’s the bizarre stuff. It probably tastes fine – I just don’t want to eat it.

      Reply
  • 3. makingspace1  |  October 31, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Hi, just found you through The Karmic Kitchen. I just slathered pbj on a flour tortilla, rolled up the tortilla, cut it in triangles, and arranged the triangles on orange plates and called it jackolantern Halloween lunch. My two seven-year-olds loved it.

    Would I do anything else? NO. Just thought I’d introduce myself to your food blog with that little entry. LOL

    Reply
    • 4. dmmfoodie  |  October 31, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      Welcome – That’s creative and I’m glad you did something your seven year olds loved. You probably could’ve put almost anything on those plates that was a little different, given it a special name and they would’ve loved it.

      I have a step-granddaughter who’ll be seven in December and another who’ll be seven next June – so I’ve come to know that age well.

      When we go visit them for the weekend I’ll build a “fort” for them with dining room chairs and extra blankets in the evening about an hour before they go to bed. I have special rules for the fort. No grown ups allowed in the fort. All children must be in their PJ’s in the fort. No food in the fort. Each child must have at least one pillow in the fort. It’s always set up so they can see the TV. I pop in a DVD like “Ratatouille” or “UP” and turn down the volume ever so slightly every 10-15 minutes and they end up falling asleep for the night in the fort. It’s like camping out in the family room. Its the little things you do to create the FEELING of something fun and special that’s most special of all.

      Nice to meet you, Amy. *smile*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


