Turkey, Bacon and Swiss Croissant-wich

November 3, 2010 at 1:14 am 1 comment

I bought some croissants at a charming little French bakery this afternoon.  I was thinking about making bread pudding with them in a few days. I bought five of them.  Absolutely knowing I can’t bring croissants home without Ernie scarfing down at least one with tea or coffee.  He loves their flaky, buttery goodness.  Then I figured I’ll have four more of them to make bread pudding with later in the week.

I was so pleased with myself for stopping there on my way to another errand. The croissants were perfectly flaky and light – not at all like those slightly rubbery ones you see in the grocery stores on a regular basis. Figured I was saving time and thinking up a great dessert recipe in my head I’ll share soon. The rest of the afternoon I was focused on business and crossing a few more things off my to-do list for the day.

However, when I got the bag inside our kitchen I realized they were so huge, three of them would certainly suffice for bread pudding.  So, what to do with the other two? I decided to create a hearty sandwich and call it dinner.  What you see above is sort of a bacon cheeseburger – but it’s made with turkey products rather than beef and pork to lighten them up a bit.  I had four slices of turkey bacon left over from the Coq au Vin Rouge I made on Sunday I wanted to use up.

Nowhere but in America would you find a combination like this.  The croissant is decidedly French. While turkey is truly American. Generally in France sandwiches are built on a baguette rather than a croissant.  They’re more for breakfast fare with coffee.

The result was hearty and filled with flavor. It also felt more special than a plain ol’ turkey burger.  And, at least for us – it was plenty of food for dinner without adding side dishes.  You could – but I didn’t feel it was necessary.

Ingredients for one sandwich:

  • One bakery croissant, sliced in half using a serrated bread knife
  • Two slices of turkey bacon, cooked
  • 4-ounce turkey patty made into an oval shape and cooked
  • slice of Swiss cheese
  • Half a small onion, cut in rings and sauteed until golden brown
  • Dark leafy greens
  • Mustard and mayonnaise to taste

Preparation:

Preheat broiler. Place the bottom of the croissant on a baking sheet.  Top with bacon, turkey burger and Swiss cheese.  Slide under the broiler for 1-2 minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Top with sauteed onions.

On the other half of the croissant put mustard and mayonnaise to taste. Add leafy greens. Put the top of the croissant on top of the lower half of the turkey burger to assemble.  Cut in half on an angle and serve.

 

Entry filed under: Adventurous Foodie, Squeezed for Time. Tags: , , , .

Cajun Salmon for Dinner Easy Dessert: Cinnamon-Pecan Shortbread

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  November 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Looks like you took a beautiful croissant and made it even MORE beautiful. Sounds wonderful (and is making me hungry!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


