Archive for November 6, 2010

Quickie Eggplant Parmesan

Eggplant Parmesan is one of those homey Italian dishes, like lasagna, that warms the cockles of your heart.  The flavors are pure Italy with a rich tomato-y sauce, garlic, basil and cheeses like mozzarella and fontina. This is a far cry from the spaghetti and meatballs my Mom made back in the day. It’s richer and more flavorful but fast and easy to put together and serve.

There are times when I want the flavors of a dish like this – but don’t necessarily want to sacrifice the labor intensive time or the calories.  A busy week night for example.  I’ll make the real deal on the weekends when I have more time to go through all the proper steps.

I have a mysterious connection with the flavors of Italy. I’m not Italian.  I’m like Julia Roberts in the movie “Eat Pray Love” when she said, “I want to have a relationship with my pizza.” That’s about the only thing I have in common with Ms. Roberts.  *wink* Don’t have her gorgeous looks or her money. But I digress.

(more…)

November 6, 2010 at 7:38 am Leave a comment


Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category