Spinach Souffle Quiche

November 7, 2010 at 8:37 pm 3 comments

Okay, I admit it.  I used a pre-made crust for this quiche.  Even after my post about Pastry Blenders a couple days ago, I still copped to the easy way this time.  The reason? There is a layer of Swiss and Gruyure cheeses underneath that Spinach filling and I thought the flavor of a real homemade crust wouldn’t come through in this particular dish.

You may have a difference of opinion.  That’s okay.  I’m more attached to making cooking work for me and my life rather than the other way around.

It was a pretty busy day even though it was a Sunday with an extra hour.  I got caught up blogging, re-writing copy for one of my other websites and getting together with a friend later this afternoon.  I’m sorry if I’m not like some of the other foodie bloggers who write about their inspiration seeing the most perfect produce in their perfectly dewy garden or at the Farmer’s Market.  I wish that was me. But it’s just not.

My inspiration is some of the other recipes I see out there in the foodosphere.  I skim through them and think, “I really believe I can make this recipe even better.” I can make it tastier, healthier. As a new food blogger I know I still have a lot to learn about taking good pictures and other things.  But I feel confident I’m going to bring you some great recipes. Well, even that is subjective.  It depends on if you like my way with food or not.  I sure hope so.

This was dinner for us. But obviously it makes a nice brunch dish, too.  Since it’s already green – my suggestion is to serve it with simple cut up fruit rather than with a salad. What makes it green – and even faster to put together is Stouffer’s Mushroom Souffle.   Yep, it’s the secret to the creamy, light, spinach-y filling.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Pastry for a 9-inch pie plate. I used a tart pan with a fluted edge and a removable bottom. (Yes, the same tart pan I used for the Shortbread recipe last week.) I let the deep dish frozen pie crust thaw out.  I gently pressed it into the shape of the tart pan. Then, I put it in the refrigerator for 20 minutes to rest.
  • 6-ounces shredded Swiss and/or Gruyere cheese
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4-cup cream or half & half
  • 1, Stouffer’s Spinach Souffle, completely thawed
  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (I used turkey bacon since my husband doesn’t eat beef or pork)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Saute onion until translucent. While the onion is cooking distribute cheese evenly into the bottom of  the uncooked pie crust.

Break eggs into a small, deep bowl and lightly beat with a fork. Add cream or half and half and combine.  Add Spinach Souffle and gently fold to combine. Add sauteed onions and crumbled bacon and fold to combine again.

Gently pour the Spinach Souffle mixture on top of the cheese in the pie crust. Spread with a tablespoon to gently distribute evenly in the pie plate or tart pan.

Put quiche in pre-heated oven.  Baked for 60-70 minutes. Let it cool for 10-15 minutes before cutting into wedges. Makes 4-6 entree servings.

 

 

Entry filed under: Adventurous Foodie, Breakfast or Brunch, Enticing Entrees. Tags: , , , .

Tis the Season for Pumpkin Pancakes Best Ever Banana Nut Bread

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bren  |  November 11, 2010 at 11:32 am

    I loove souffle. Haven’t made one in a long time, but a client just asked me to make a turkey one this weekend…. what a great idea, right?!

    Reply
    • 2. dmmfoodie  |  November 11, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Well, this isn’t nearly as light and fluffy as a real souffle – but it’s a little lighter than a regular quiche. I mostly tossed the word “souffle” in the name because of the Stouffers product used. If I was going to make a turkey souffle – I’d use some of the tastes from Thanksgiving. A little cranberries. Maybe dressing would lighten it up and make it more fluffy and souffle-like. A little green veggie from the Turkey Day table for a little more color. Could be fun and like Thanksgiving dinner in a souffle or a slice of quiche. Kind of a cool idea. I do a “day after Thanksgiving Hash” that’s pretty good. (It falls into the “When Food Gets Ugly” category. But still tastes great.)

      Reply
  • 3. Bren  |  November 11, 2010 at 11:33 am

    actually, he wants more a quiche, so prob less eggs. we’ll see…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


