Maple Walnut Granola

November 10, 2010 at 5:38 am 2 comments

  • This is my kind of breakfast. Crunchy, lightly sweet and tangy tart all at the same time.  Served up with a generous dollop of Greek yogurt and a handful of berries. It’s perfect breakfast chow in my opinion.
  • Okay, okay. I’ll be honest with you.  Left to my own devices, I would rather have leftovers from dinner the night before nuked in the microwave rather than actual, dedicated breakfast food.  But that’s not always an option – nor should it be. So, the question of what to have for breakfast looms large some mornings.
  • I’m not a big egg person. On the other hand, my husband Ernie’s knickname is, “The Eggman.” Remember the ol’ Beatles song? “I am the walrus. I am the eggman.”
  • He would happily eat eggs seven days a week. And if he thinks I’m not looking – he will.  Just scrambled eggs, Ezekiel bread toast and a banana.  He’s a happy camper. I’m a little more picky when it comes to breaking the fast.

 

  • As for me, if I’m going to eat eggs – I want them doctored up. Which is why I hope to gradually share some of my breakfast creations with you, gentle reader. I’ve got wonderful fritattas and all kinds of good things in my brain that I’ve cooked over the years to share with you here.

 

  • But on weekdays I don’t always want to take the time to cook up a batch of eggs and then clean the pan. So, tasty, homemade granola is always a great option.  I like the texture.  I like the bit of maple flavor and the way it fairly dances with the walnuts and dried cranberries. I also like the fact that when I make a batch like below it stays well in a container with a tight lid and makes about 8-10 servings. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3-cups old-fashioned oats (9 ounces)
  • 1-cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3-cup walnut oil
  • 1/3-cup pure Maple syrup
  • 1-teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/2-teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1-teaspoon pure Vanilla
  • 1/2-teaspoon salt
  • 1/2-cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2-cup golden raisins

Preheat oven to 375°F with rack in middle. Spray a jelly roll pan with non-stick spray, or, line with parchment paper.

Stir together oats and walnuts in a large bowl. Heat oil, maple syrup, cardamom, cinnamon  and salt in a small saucepan over low heat (or in a microwave) until heated through. Stir into oat mixture.

Spread evenly in sheet pan and bake, stirring once, until golden, 20 to 25 minutes.

Cool granola completely in pan (it will crisp as it cools), then stir in dried cranberries and raisins.

Entry filed under: Adventurous Foodie, Breakfast or Brunch. Tags: , .

Mediterranean Stuffed Acorn Squash Hot Apple Cake w/ Caramel Pecan Sauce

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz - Meal Makeover Mom  |  November 11, 2010 at 4:53 am

    I love the flavor of walnut oil but have never cooked with it (have only used it on salads)! Do you think canola oil would work just as well here? The recipe looks delicious. Love the combo of the raisins and cranberries!

    Reply
    • 2. dmmfoodie  |  November 11, 2010 at 6:22 am

      Hi Liz: Absolutely. I think canola oil is neutral enough that it’ll be just fine for you. In fact I made the granola with canola once when I was out of walnut oil and didn’t want to go to the specialty store to get it. Walnut oil just adds that extra special touch because you also have walnuts in the granola. Canola is my “go to” oil when I want something “flavor neutral.” I also use a little walnut oil on cooked green beans and toss on a little toasted walnuts. So much nicer than that ol’ green bean casserole.

      For those readers wondering where to find walnut oil – I get it at Whole Foods or Cost Plus World Imports.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


