Opa!!!! Greek-style Pizza

November 12, 2010 at 1:17 am Leave a comment

If you know anything about Greek food you know pizza really isn’t a Greek thing.  But who can resist some of the flavors of Greece – lamb, oregano, feta cheese, spinach and red onions on a pizza.  Okay, okay – I know it’s not authentic.  But believe me, if you like the flavors of Greece you will enjoy this. And pizza is always fun, right?

I think of pizza as one of those foods you whip together when you don’t really want to cook too much.  That’s why I use the Boboli crust.  I’m sure there are great cooks out there who feel using a Boboli for anything is an abomination.  And I believe 100 percent that that’s your opinion.  I beg to differ.

I know a homemade crust tastes better.  However, I’m not too into bread.  Yes, I had an ill-fated experience with a Brioche recipe I tried last week. But for the most part I don’t eat a lot of white flour as bread – so I just choose not to spend a lot of time cooking it.  Because if I cook it – I know I’m going to want to eat it.  You know how it is – if you cook it, you feel you have the “right” to eat it. Or, you somehow talk yourself into thinking it doesn’t have any calories.

This Greek-style pizza was a way of using up a handful of different things I had in my kitchen at the moment to create something really original. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • One Boboli pizza crust
  • 1/2-cup, marinara sauce, (I use Trader Joes)
  • One medium red onion, cut in thin rings and sauteed, until translucent and soft
  • 1/2-pound ground lamb
  • 1-tablespoon, dried oregano
  • 1/2-teaspoon sea salt
  • One handful of raw spinach, or, about 1/3 of a frozen 10-ounce box of spinach completely thawed and drained
  • 3-4 ounces, crumbled Feta cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  I use a pizza stone and put it in the oven to preheat. However, this piece of equipment is optional.

Brown ground lamb and toss in oregano and salt.

Top Boboli pizza crust with all the items above distributed evenly. Start with the Marinara sauce and end with the Feta cheese on top. Slide prepared pizza into the hot oven either onto the pizza stone or directly on the oven rack.  I find using a cookie sheet without sides is the best way to get the pizza into and out of the oven. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove.

Cut into slices using a pizza wheel and serve immediately. Makes 6-8 slices.

NOTE: Whenever you go to a Greek restaurant and order Saganaki, the flaming appetizer with Kasseri cheese and Ouzo liquor the waiter shouts, “Opaaaaaaa!!!!!” as your dish bursts into flame. I once asked a Greek waiter in Greektown Detroit what “Opa!” means.  He told me it means, “Look out!”

Entry filed under: A Little Weird, Adventurous Foodie, Enticing Entrees. Tags: , , .

Amazing Cranberry-Orange Sauce Red Cabbage and Apples

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


